Florida's Poet Laureate

Established by the Florida Legislature in 2014 (Florida Statute 265.2863), the Florida Poet Laureate is an honorary position created in the Florida Department of State.  

Florida’s Poet Laureate promotes reading, writing and the appreciation of poetry throughout the state and encourages students to express themselves through poetry and reading out loud. State Poet Laureates must serve a term of four (4) years.

Nomination Process

The Florida Poet Laureate nomination deadline was February 13, 2015

The Florida Council on Arts and Culture will vote to recommend five names to the Secretary of State on March 12, 2015. 

Previous Florida Poet Laureates

 Franklin N. Wood  By Governor John W. Martin, 1929
 Vivian Laramore Rader  By Governor Doyle E. Carlton, 1931
 Dr. Edmund Skellings  By Governor Robert Graham, 1980 


Rachelle Ashmore